Background of the Ministry

About the Ministry

The Ministry of East African Community and Regional Development was established in 2018 following the reorganization of the Government of Kenya. The Ministry has two State Departments; East African Community and Regional and Northern Corridor Development. Prior to 2018, the then State Department of East African Community Affairs was under the Ministry of East African Affairs, Labour and Social Protection while Regional Development was coordinated by the Ministry of Devolution and Planning.  The Ministry is established to coordinate Kenya’s participation in the East African Community integration process pursuant to article 8(3)a of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community.

Mandate of the Ministry

The Ministry derives its mandate from the Executive Order No.1 of June, 2018 (Revised) and Head of Public Service circular of 2nd April, 2019. Following the reorganization of Government in June 2018, the Ministry of East African Community and Regional Development was established with the following mandate;

  1. Policy on East African Community
  2. East African Community Affairs
  3. Implementation of the East African Treaty
  4. Facilitate and enhance the Ease of doing Business in Kenya
  5. Identifying and recommending business reforms for promoting business and for making Kenya competitive locally, regionally and internationally
  6. Coordinating engagements of the Government of Kenya with private sector in respect to business climate and business transformation
  7. Co-ordination of implementation of EAC regional Programmes and Projects
  8. Promotion and Fast Tracking of EAC Integration
  9. Co-ordination of Government’s participation in East African Community Affairs
  10. East African Community Meetings and Institutions
  11. Coordinating Kenya South Sudan Liaison Office (KESSULO)
  12. Coordination of Regional Development Authorities
  13. Monitoring and Evaluation of the implementation of Northern Corridor Development.
  14. Fast tracking identified Northern Corridor Integration Projects
  15. Oversight and Co-ordination of Lamu South Sudan Ethiopia Transit Corridor (LAPSSET) Programme implementation
  16. Providing Secretariat Service during Ministerial and Head of States Summit Meetings on Northern Corridor Development
  17. Coordinating Northern Corridor Transit and Transport Co-ordination Authority (NCTTCA)
Skip to content