One Stop Border Posts (OSBPs)

The EAC Treaty under Chapter Fifteen provides Cooperation in Infrastructure and Services. Lack of coordination among agencies operating at the border posts in EAC was identified as one of the main challenges facing the integration process.

The implementation of OSBP is aimed at facilitating cross-border movements through reduction of the time taken in clearance procedures. Along the Kenya borders, Malaba, Busia, Isebania, Namanga, Taveta and LungaLunga border posts were selected for this concept.

The six OSBPs have been completed and among them Taveta and Namanga, Busia and Malaba are operational. To facilitate the operations of the OSBP, an EAC OSBP Act 2016 has been formulated. The Act grants officers from adjourning Partner State right to implement their national laws while operating across the border.