Common Market Pillar

The Protocol for establishment of the EAC Common Market was signed in November, 2009 and came into force on 1st July, 2010 upon ratification by the Partner States. This Pillar provides for free movement of goods, persons, labour, services and capital, and rights of establishment and residence. The following has been achieved.

  1. Free movement of persons and labour
  2. Reciprocal opening of border post for 24 hours
  3. Harmonized entry/ exit forms
  4. Harmonization of procedures for issuance of work permits
  5. Student pass issued gratis
  6. Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda have waived work permit fees
  7. Joint promotion of Tourism